What is the White Paper on International Migration?

Explainer Card

Keep up to date with our Teach-Yourself Series – condensed articles on current and planned changes in South African migration law. Our articles and infographics aim to spread awareness on South Africa’s migration landscape, and our standpoints on the i …

What is the White Paper on International Migration? Read More »


  1. In contrast, the 1997 Green Paper included a list of sources and references.
  2. The SADC region is made up of the following member states: Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
  3. The statistics in the White Paper for deportations are from 2012-2016.
  4. Link to our refugees act infographic here
  5. Link to our refugees act inforgraphic here
  6. The White Paper also finds (in an unsourced claim) that 90% of asylum seekers do not ‘qualify for refugee status.’ We contend that a 90% rejection rate does not mean that 90% of asylum claimants do not qualify for refugee status – it simply means that they have been rejected within a battling. Contrary to the White Paper’s findings, surveys have found that a majority of asylum seekers in South Africa have valid refugee claims.
  7. Currently, the Lindela Holding Facility is the most similar institution to a Processing Centre – and this has been embroiled in various abuse claims.
  8. A study noted that as of March 2013 there was R503.3 million in pending legal claims against Immigration Affairs, with the majority related to cases of unlawful detention.
  9. The third-country principle is implemented elsewhere, such as in the European Union, only through multi- or bi-lateral agreements with neighbouring States, which are subject to legal standards. More on the application of this principle to South Africa can be read here.
Scroll to Top

Send this to a friend