Carolin Duerr

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
carolin

My name is Carolin Duerr, I was born in Munich (Germany) on November 6th, 1990. I finished school in 2009 and started studying Cultural Anthropology and Sociology of Non-Western Societies at the University of Amsterdam (The Netherlands) in 2010. After finishing this Bachelor study in June, I decided to try gaining some experience before doing a Master’s study. Since my dad used to live in South Africa when I was a child I really felt like going to Cape Town again, and after finding Sonke Gender Justice I was sure about it.

I am really interested in issues of masculinity/masculinities in urban contexts of socioeconomic inequality and marginalisation, especially in how gender and social and physical locations interact with the identity-formation of people. Also, I find it interesting to study and deconstruct (ideals of) masculinities, relate the findings to social issues like (gender-based) violence, and engage in a conversation on how to create and spread more constructive ideals.

More generally I am passionate about nature, all living beings, music and books/articles. I am sure that I learnt a lot during my time at Sonke and that I gained lots of experience to guide me through my Master’s studies and my further career. I hope that I will have the chance to work with Sonke again at some point in my life.

Scroll to Top

Join our mailing list

Receive social justice news and views from Sonke Gender Justice in your mailbox!