Regional Parliamentary Structures

This report has been developed by Sonke Gender Justice, on behalf of the MenEngage Africa Network, with the support of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). The report provides a description of parliamentary structures linked to the Regional Economic Communities (RECs) in Africa and aims to support efforts by civil society organisations to participate in their processes and initiate collaborative activities with these structures. Known as the Regional Parliamentary Assemblies (RPA), these institutions are “intended to assume the legislative and democratic oversight functions of regional integration organisations and processes”. The RPAs described in this report include those of the African Union (AU); the Southern African Development Community (SADC); the East African Community (EAC); and the Economic Community of West African States (ECWAS).